Some thoughts about Rosary

Rosary thoughts
Most people think that the Rosary should be prayed in this manner: meditate on the mysteries, not on the prayers.
I think it would be better if one recited the Rosary while thinking of both the mysteries and the prayers. (Which is hard because we tend to forget about what we are saying when we are meditating on the mysteries and vice versa) To facilitate this, I propose expounding the mysteries and prayers and fusing them. In other words, making new prayers which contains the details of both the prayers and the mysteries. This would result in each decade having creative, refreshing, fitting expounded prayers.
St. Alphonsus made introductory prayers that contains significant details for each dolor for the  Seven Dolor Rosary , so that one can meditate better while reciting dolour. Here’s an example (succinct summary of the second dolour):
SECOND DOLOUR.—I pity thee, my afflicted Mother,
for the second sword which pierced thee, when, soon after
His birth, thou didst behold thy innocent Son threatened
with death by those very men for whose salvation He had
come into the world
; so that in the darkness of night thou
wast obliged to fly secretly with Him into Egypt. By
the many hardships then, which thou, a delicate young
woman, in company with thine exiled child, didst endure
in
so long and fatiguing a journey through rough and
desert countries
, and during thy residence in Egypt, where,
being unknown and a stranger, thou didst live for so many
years,
in poverty and contempt, I beseech thee, my beloved
Lady, to obtain me grace to suffer with patience until
death, in thy company, the trials of this miserable life, that
I may thus in the next, escape the eternal punishments of
hell which I have deserved.
Expounding of the Ave by Our Lady Herself, to St. Mechtilde:
“My daughter, I want you to know that no one can please me more than by saying the salutation which the Most Adorable Trinity sent to me and by which He raised me to the dignity of Mother of God.

“By the word Ave (which is the name Eve, Eva [Ave being Eva’s name reversing shows the opposite role; Eva caused damnation of the human race by her disobedience, Mary repaired that damnation by her obedience]), I learned that in His infinite power God had preserved me from all sin and its attendant misery which the first woman had been subject to. “The name Mary which means ‘lady of light’ shows that God has filled me with wisdom and light, like a shining star, to light up Heaven and earth.

“The words full of grace remind me that the Holy Spirit has showered so many graces upon me that I am able to give these graces in abundance to those who ask for them through me as Mediatrix.

“When people say The Lord is with thee they renew the indescribable joy that was mine when the Eternal Word became incarnate in my womb.

“When you say to me blessed art thou among women I praise Almighty God’s Divine mercy which lifted me to this exalted plane of happiness.

“And at the words blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus, the whole of Heaven rejoices with me to see my Son Jesus Christ adored and glorified for having saved mankind.”  [The second part of the Ave Maria, “Sancta Maria, Mater Dei, ora pro nobis peccatoribus nunc, et in hora mortis nostrae,”  was not part of the Ave Maria during St. Mechtilde’s time, which is why Our Lady did not expound it. (The prayer was incorporated into the Ave around the time of Council of Trent)]

There are deep significances in the Ave Maria that people usually don’t think about, but which they probably should.
Likewise there are deep significances in the mysteries of the Rosary. St. Louis-Marie said about the 15 mysteries:
‘…their perfume and beauty can only be appreciated by those who study them carefully–and who open them and drink in their scent by diligent and serious meditation. Saint Dominic has divided up the lives of Our Lord and Our Lady into fifteen mysteries which stand for their virtues and their most important actions. These are the fifteen tableaux ; or pictures whose every detail must rule and inspire our lives. [emphasis added]’
I realized how futile it was to propagate Devotion to the 7 dolors without expounding the details of it. Reading St. Alphonsus’ discourse on the seven dolors and his prayers for each of the seven dolors in his Little Rosary of the Seven Dolours, one can see the details of the dolors and its significances, as well as the lessons to be drawn from it.
By my plan, the prayers would be not overly long as to last more than an hour per chaplet. (Three hours total)
Since praying the Rosary by way of Gregorian chanting the prayers take about an hour per chaplet, and Gregorian chant refreshes the soul, and chanting the Rosary is mentioned in the authoratative book, ‘The Secret of the Rosary,’ it would be well to just skim over the details of the mysteries and prayers while singing it.
The mental engagement in these important details is not as important as having the presence of JESUS and MARY in mind while praying the Rosary. Perhaps adding a few words after the sacred names, “in the presence of whom I firmly believe that I am giving a crown of Roses, the beauty of which depends on my carefulness in reciting the Rosary….” might be a good idea.UNLESS a Priest esteem the Holy Sacrifice
as it deserves
, he can never celebrate it
with suitable devotion. –St. Alphonsus de Liguori

Unless a person esteem the Rosary as it deserves, he can never recite it with suitable devotion.

Leave a Reply

